Frank W. Ervin III elected board president of SME Education Foundation

SOUTHFIELD—The SME Education Foundation, the philanthropic arm of SME, formerly the Society of Automotive Engineers, announced that Frank W. Ervin III was elected as its 2023 board of directors’ president at its recent SME Fall Gala, with all officers and directors taking office Jan. 1.

The board, comprising leaders from industry, academia, and the community, is the governing body of the Foundation.

“As the SME Education Foundation 2023 president, I’m looking forward to working with our officers and directors in executing the organization’s five-year plan focused on inspiring, preparing and supporting the next generation of manufacturing talent,” Ervin said. “We are focusing on moving forward all of our initiatives, including our commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion.”

Ervin is managing director of Ervin Policy Group LLC, a full-service public policy and advocacy enterprise serving clients in the automotive industry. His experience also includes leadership roles with the Piston Group, the Michigan Minority Supplier Development Council, and Magna International.

2023 SME Education Foundation Officers

The officers and directors of the SME Education Foundation board of directors act as the governing body of the Foundation with budget authority and oversight responsibility. They include:

  • President ―Frank W. Ervin III, Ervin Policy Group LLC, West Bloomfield Twp.
  • Vice President ― Erica Powell Bell, Mobex Global, Southfield
  • Secretary/Treasurer ― Andrew M. “Andy” Jones, Seizert Capital Partners, Birmingham, Mich.

2023-24 Education Foundation Directors

  • Adam Claytor, Coltrane Logistics, Wixom
  • Valerie I. Freeman, Washington Park High School, Racine, Wis.
  • Robert “Robby” Komljenovic, Acieta, Waukesha, Wis.
  • Arthur F. McClellan Jr., Lear Corp., Southfield
  • Peter Mancini, Mastercam, Somers, Conn.
  • John F. Miller, Siemens Digital Industries Software, Plano, Texas
  • Christopher A. Rake, FIRST, Manchester, N.H.
  • Kyle M. Riegel, Schunk Carbon Technology, West Des Moines, Iowa
  • Marion Wells, Human Asset Management, Flossmoor, Ill.

“This group of officers and directors possess strong leadership and exceptional manufacturing acumen and experience that will help accelerate our activities in educating high-school and post-secondary students,” said Rob Luce, vice president of the SME Education Foundation. “I anticipate them building on the strong growth we’ve seen in the last few years.”

To learn more about the SME Education Foundation Board of Directors, visit

The SME Education Foundation inspires, prepares, and supports the next generation of manufacturing and engineering talent. Since its organization by SME in 1979, the SME Education Foundation works to bring students, educators, industry, and communities together through its SME PRIME program; awards annual student scholarships and conducts the Student Summit Event Series held at SME events in North America. Visit the SME Education Foundation at Follow @mfgeducation on Twitter or at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.